Log in

Log in


WTGS offers, through the West Texas Geological Foundation (WTGF), several scholarships to college students studying earth science, environmental technology, or petroleum engineering. Please take the time to find out if you or someone you know qualify for one of these great opportunities.

Deadline Submittal date is March 1, 2024.

*Scholarships and reference letters can be emailed to  

*Reference letters must be received sealed or emailed direct from sponsor.


Please note this is a digital form. You should be able to download and type into all the blanks the appropriate information or you are welcome to print the form and fill-out the information by hand. You must hand write the essay, then sign the form prior to applying.

R. L. (Bert) Swanson, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Fund

Bert Swanson was a graduate of 1979 Midland High School who after his freshman year at The University of Texas had decided to major in geology. In July 1980, Bert was tragically killed by a drunk driver. The R.L. (Bert) Swanson Memorial Scholarship is to be awarded to a student who graduated from the Midland Independent School District (MISD) and is studying geology, geophysics or petroleum engineering at The University of Texas at Austin.  


John Emery Adams was a prominent Permian Basin geologist best known for his theories on the Permian Reef-tract, the starved basin theory, and reflux dolomitization. The John Emery Adams Memorial Scholarship is to be awarded to encourage advanced study in earth sciences.

E. Russell Lloyd Scholarship Fund

E. Russell Lloyd was one of the first geologists to recognize that reef carbonates control much of the hydrocarbon accumulations in the Permian Basin. The E. Russell Lloyd Memorial Scholarship is to be awarded to encourage advanced study in earth sciences.

Bernold M. “Bruno” Hanson Scholarship Fund

Few have given more of themselves to their profession than Bernold M. (Bruno) Hanson gave to geology in the Permian Basin, nationally and globally through his work and his volunteer efforts with the West Texas Geological Society and the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. The Bruno Hanson Memorial Scholarship is to be awarded to a science major in geology or environmental technology at Midland College.

WinGS (Women in Geological Sciences) scholarship is given to the top female geologist


Fill out the online membership application.


© West Texas Geological Society

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software